Château de la Terrière

The domain

In the heart of Beaujolais Crus

The Château de la Terrière has stood in Cercié, facing Mount Brouilly,since the 14th century, in the heart of the Beaujolais region. It is one of the oldest estates in the region.

After belonging to successive generations of lords, Château de la Terrière was bought in 2003 and important works have been done in the cellars and in the vineyards.

The master craftsmen

Grégory Barbet, today manager of the Château, is the 9th génération of a winegrowers family. He is also owner of Domaine de la Pirolette with his wife Virginie.

Frédéric Maignet is the winemaker of Château de la Terrière. He is also consultant oenologist for numerous other estates in Beaujolais.

Château de la Terrière

2 grape varieties and 6 AOP produced

Area •  28 hectares

Grape varieties •  Gamay Noir, Pinot Noir

Appellations
12 hectares one single plot in Cru Brouilly AOP
5 hectares Cru Régnié AOP located on the areas called “Sibérie” and “Tour Bourdon”
2 hectares Cru Fleurie AOP
3 hectares Cru Moulin-à-Vent AOP
6 hectares Bourgogne Pinot Noir AOP

The vines of the Château

Terroir

The vines at Château de la Terrière are on average 50 years old. They grow south-facing, half-way up the side of a deep, dry pink granite hill for Brouilly and Régnié, on manganese and iron oxyd-rich soils for Moulin-à-Vent and well-drained sandy soils for Fleurie.

In 2010, the estate became a pioneer when it planted the Pinot Noir at Cogny, grape in the Pierres Dorées area.

Respect for the environment and for fruit

The vines are grown according to reasonable farming methods. The soils are worked with machines, with as little intervention as possible. Basically, everything is done precisely and accurately, to enhance the expression of the soils and respect the vines.

he approach is traditional with the harvests done by hand. The bunches are put in trays to avoid squashing and to make sorting the grapes far easier.

Recently, sowing of clover was realized on the cover planted plots of land to limit the weeding, restructure the ground and fix the atmospheric nitrogen.

Distinguishing figures

The plot of La Tour Bourdon holds a surprising pyramid of stoneware blocks, and is as well one of the remarkable 'Géosites' of Beaujolais. This stoneware was formed there 200 million years ago but the origin of the creation of these round blocks remains a riddle which makes debate at the geologist's.

The Wine sauvage à Poil

  • The estate

    Vin Sauvage à Poil is the natural wine produced by Château de la Terrière.

    Area • 3 hectares, partially on the area called La Sibérie

    Grape varieties • Gamay Noir

    Appellations • Régnié

    A natural, wild, wine, a pure and true wine: with no added sulphites, from vinification to bottling. A cuvee made from plots located around the area called La Sibérie. A promise of seriousness…but relaxed. Which explains the offbeat, clawed and “roots” label chosen for this cuvee.

    Soil

    The vineyard grow south facing on a clay and old alluvium soil in which are included big and round sandstones rocks. These sandstones stoneware was were formed there 200 million years ago but the origin of the creation of these round blocks remains a riddle which makes debate at the geologist's in the geologist circle.

    We selected very old vines located on lieu dit La Sibérie. Planted in 1911, they are today more than 100 years old and are producing small berries, very clean and with thick skin.

    Green Practices

    As we are talking about a natural wine, the vines are grown according to organic farming practice, however with no certification. Soils are worked with machines, with as little intervention as possible. Basically, everything is done precisely and accurately, to enhance the expression of the soils and respect the vines.

    Vin Sauvage à Poil, that could be translated by Nacked and Wild Wine is vinified and aged with no addition of sulfites. It goes perfectly with the typical characteristics of this terroir that produces a fruity, vibrant, pure and mineral wine

    Men

    This natural wine of Château de la Terrière is marked by the “paw” of Frédéric Maignet, the master craftsman at Château de la Terrière.

    In 2009, the quality of the grapes was superb. Frédéric knew what he wanted to make ; he was so sure of himself. He decided to push the envelope even further and created a "natural" batch with grapes from the area called "Sibérie".

    The wine

    On the nose, this wine is full of ripe fruit, juicy, which we could crunch at the end of the during summer. It is mineral and vibrant, but also floral, with peony and violet aromas, and some spices with an oriental sweetness. In the mouth, it is a concentrated, fresh and rich wine, offering a nice texture, melted and candied fruits.

Château de la Terrière

Le domaine

Au cœur des crus du Beaujolais

Le Château de la Terrière se dresse depuis le XiVème siècle face au Mont Brouilly, à Cercié au cœur du Beaujolais historique. Il est aujourd’hui l’un des plus vieux domaines de la région.

Après avoir appartenu à des générations successives de nobles, le Château de la Terrière a été repris en 2003 et, depuis cette date, d’importants travaux ont été réalisés, aussi bien en cave qu’à la vigne.

Les maîtres d’œuvre

Grégory Barbet, aujourd’hui gérant du château, est la 9ème génération d’une famille de vignerons. Il est également propriétaire du Domaine de la Pirolette avec sa femme Virginie.

Frédéric Maignet est le monsieur vin du Château de la Terrière. Il est aussi œnologue consultant pour de nombreux domaines en Beaujolais.

Château de la Terrière

2 cépages et 6 AOP produites

Surface • 28 hectares

Cépages • Gamay Noir, Pinot Noir

Appellations produites
12 hectares un seul tenant en AOP Cru Brouilly
5 hectares AOP Cru Régnié sur le lieu-dit la Sibérie
2 hectares AOP Cru Fleurie
3 hectares AOP Cru Moulin-à-Vent
6 hectares AOP Bourgogne Pinot noir

Les vignes du Château

Le terroir

Les vignes du Château sont en moyenne âgées de 50 ans et s’étendent plein Sud, à mi-coteaux, sur une colline de granit rose altéré et profond pour les Brouilly et les Régnié, sur des sols granitiques riches en oxyde de fer et en manganèse pour le Moulin-à-Vent ou encore sur des sols sableux et bien drainants pour le Fleurie.

En 2010, le domaine devient précurseur en plantant le cépage Pinot Noir à Cogny, dans la région des Pierres Dorées.

Le respect de l’environnement et du fruit

La vigne est conduite en lutte raisonnée, les sols sont travaillés mécaniquement et les interventions minimales. En somme, tout est fait au plus juste et avec précision pour valoriser l’expression des terroirs et respecter la vigne.

L’approche reste traditionnelle, avec des vendanges réalisées à la main, dans des bacs pour ne pas écraser le raisin et permettre un tri facile des baies.

Récemment, des semis de trèfle ont été réalisés sur les parcelles enherbées pour limiter le désherbage, restructurer le sol et fixer l’azote atmosphérique.

Signe particulier

La parcelle de la La Tour Bourdon recèle une étonnante pyramide de blocs de grès, et est ainsi l’un des Géosites remarquables du Beaujolais. Ce grès s’est formé il y a 200 millions d’années mais l’origine de la formation de ces blocs ronds reste une énigme qui fait débat chez les géologues.

Le Vin sauvage à Poil

  • Le domaine

    Le Vin Sauvage à Poil est le vin nature du Château de la Terrière.

    Surface • 3 hectares, en partie sur le lieu-dit La Sibérie

    Cépages • Gamay Noir

    Appellations produites • Régnié

    Un vin nature, un vin sauvage, un vin pur et vrai : sans ajout de sulfite, depuis la vinification jusqu’à la mise en bouteille. Une cuvée issue de parcelles situées autour du lieu dit La Sibérie. Une promesse de sérieux… décontracté. D’où l’étiquette décalée, griffue et « roots » retenue pour cette cuvée.

    Green Practices

    Comme il s’agit d’un vin nature, la vigne est conduite selon des pratiques culturales entre raisonnée et biologique. Les sols sont travaillés mécaniquement et les interventions minimales. Tout est fait au plus juste et avec précision pour valoriser l’expression des terroirs et respecter la vigne.

    Le Vin Sauvage à Poil est vinifié et élevé sans aucun ajout de sulfite, un choix qui correspond parfaitement à la typicité de ce terroir produisant un vin fruité, vibrant, pur et minéral.

    Le Terroir

    Les vignes de Régnié du Château s’étendent plein sud, à mi-coteaux, sur un sol d’argile et d’alluvions anciennes dans lequel sont inclus de gros blocs de grès ronds et émoussés. Ce grès s’est formé il y a 200 millions d’années mais l’origine de la formation de ces blocs reste une énigme qui fait débat chez les géologues.

    Techniquement, nous avons fait une sélection parcellaire sur des très vieilles vignes s’épanouissant près du lieu dit La Sibérie. Plantées en 1911, elles sont aujourd’hui centenaires et produisent des petits rendements et des raisins avec de petites baies, très saines et résistantes.

    Les hommes

    Ce vin nature du Château de la Terrière est marqué par la patte de Frédéric Maignet, le maître d’oeuvre du Château. En 2009, la qualité des raisins était superbe et Frédéric savait ce qu’il voulait faire ; il était sûr de lui. Il décide d’aller plus loin et réalise cette cuvée « nature » avec les raisins issus autour du lieu dit La Sibérie.

    Le vin

    Au nez, ce vin est plein de fruit mûr, à jus, que l’on croque à la fin de l’été. C’est minéral et vibrant, mais aussi floral, avec des arômes de violette et de pivoine, et épicé avec une douceur orientale. En bouche, c’est un vin concentré, frais et riche, offrant une belle matière et des tanins fondus et confits.